I'm in Russia. Not physically of course but between becoming a fan of Alyona Show on RT, Wild Russia, and Russia's Toughest Prisons I've got Russia on my mind.
Alyona has focused a lot of attention on the plight of a 12-year old American boy who is facing a life sentence in the US without the possibility of parole after being found guilty of murder. Watching Russia's Toughest prisons both on TV and reading the comments on YT I clicked on some related videos and came across this one, Torture Factory. It's entirely in Russian, not English voice over, no subtitles, and the text is cryllic (sp) so it's next to impossible to have a firm grasp. Though it's entirely in Russian the person who posted it took the time to post the title Torture Factory in English, perhaps hoping English speakers would watch it.
I scrolled through the comment section but everything is in Russia, but I don't think you have to know Russian. The English title and images speak volumes. From what I can grasp this torture factory is a Russian prison camp (I keep hearing the world colonia. You hear that word A LOT in these Russian prison documentaries. A lot).
I'm hoping the video was filmed before the fall of the Soviet Union but this seems relatively current and one of the comments includes "2008." If that is case, Russia is operating military-style concentration camps. The prisoners have presumably been tried and convicted but some of these image look like they were taken in a concentration camp. Jews were innocent. As for the date on of the pictures shows a boy standing behind the red, white and blue Russian Federation flag so the 2008 date could be correct. Torture Factory is posted in several parts.
The part that includes the beatings by guards or soldiers are horrific. Search and watch at your own risk. Again, since RT is focusing on American prisons I feel justified in posting this one. As a kid I saw Midnight Express and thought a Turkish prison was the absolute worst hell hole imaginable. Anywhere in the middle east. :( Like a lot of people I just assumed that Russia became "normal" after the fall of the Soviet Union, but apparently it hasn't been entirely purged from this barbarity.
The boys in the film are nearly emaciated and the injuries...horrible. Some are probably crime victims, but another part of the documentary shoves horrific beatings of prisoners in prison. Again, the prisoners are emaciated, pale, and from another video, I learned that Russian prisons are extremely overcrowded and TB is rampant.
So for the person who posted the video entirely in Russian except for the English title I am reposting it here. I think someone wanted this video to be watched by those outside of Russia, English speakers, so here it is:
No comments:
Post a Comment